Week ending 22-11-15

Going back to original settings but with some programme flow improvements has increased turnover to nearly double previous week. Settled bets has also increased by over 50%. Happy with a profit but the chart isn’t showing a consistent trend. The initial period, up to around 133, was basically flat, then on to 337 looks good but the tail end is showing a downward trend. As it’s in profit I’m letting it carry on with no adjustments, see what happens. (I’ll update on Aus results later)

151122week

5 thoughts on “Week ending 22-11-15”

    1. This made me think. My initial thoughts were to find the profitable trades and target them, cutting out the bad trades through restricting market entry conditions. As this is a relatively simple bot (Bot 1 is basically a WOM calculator with some conditions) I’ve come to realise I’ve probably got as far as I can with it. This is why I’m looking at US horses as a way of increasing turnover rather than increase % profit. I think to make an increase in profit the bot needs to do a lot more work, monitoring movements as well as WOM. This is where I’ve been focusing with Bot 2 but it’s almost like starting the learning process from scratch. Handling large data arrays and working out how and what to calculate, which indicators are useful, what time frames to work in, is bigger than anything I’ve done before in programming. It’s really interesting learning and moving to VB is another challenge. I enjoy programming, working methodically and problem solving, more than trading. Hopefully I’ll make a more profitable bot, one day.

      Like

      1. Have you looked at optimising your exits and entries?

        For example, anything on optimising percentage loss per trade (taking a little more risk) and percentage win per trade (letting winning trades run a little longer)?

        With the quantity of trades you’ve placed there is plenty of data to look through and optimise with.

        BPT – http://www.betfairprotrader.co.uk/

        Like

      2. No, I haven’t looked at this. I’ve always used a 1 tick offset and 3 tick stoploss (1 second chasing). My analysis has always been on which trades were profitable and which weren’t. My bot records the market data at point of entry only, so although there is a lot of data, I don’t know what happens/happened after that. Looking at optimising entry and exit is new to me but obvious now you’ve said it. Would I be looking to enter with an offset/stoploss set or would the exit point only be determined after entry and dependant on the activity following? Thanks 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

