Costs

I’ve been monitoring my computers energy use since October and on average it costs £9.10 per month to run (this includes UPS). Added to the Gruss subscription, that’s £15.10. I’ve looked into putting it on a virtual server (VPS) but it’s a bit costly at the moment. Although monthly fees for a windows setup can be found for less than £9, adding Office to be able to use Excel pushes the price up.

When my own bot is running OK, I should be able to move to a VPS, reducing my costs. There are other benefits to this, such as faster connection and better up time. Also being able to access from anywhere would be good. I could access my own computer remotely but I’m sure that would interfere with the bot’s response time. Anything I do seems to effect it, even sending a small file causes Gruss to pause.

 

One thought on “Costs”

Leave a Reply

