E-sports?

If you follow me on Twitter you may have seen my excited tweet on Sunday, showing off my win on the first e-sports market I’d looked at. (I used the method of laying a short priced favourite.)

esports win

But more importantly, it was the first e-sport event I watched. “What’s e-sport?” I hear you ask. It’s people playing computer games competitively. I watched the world championship grand final for the game Counter Strike: Global Offensive. There were two teams of five playing against each other in the final, having gone through qualifiers, rounds and knockouts. It’s more than just spotty teenagers in dark bedrooms. The top teams have dietitians, sports psychologists and fitness coaches. This event was held in a 11,000+ arena, streamed live online, with a prize pot of $650,000 ($250,000 for Counter Strike: GO). The world of e-sports is expected to grow rapidly in the coming years according to those in the know.

E-sports is something that as I’ve heard more about it, I’ve wanted to take a look. I’m glad I did as I did enjoy it. Whether I start playing remains to be seen. I follow Laurence Stanley on Twitter who blogs about his esport betting. His website is a good place to find out more.

For now the amount of money traded on the exchange was relatively low compared to other sports. There was a lot of money off the spread, with the spread being quite wide. There are a number of bookies offering E-sports betting, so I guess a lot of that on offer on the exchange was just waiting for takers so they could arb out with the bookies. As liquidity increases, a point will be reached where it takes off, bringing in even more money.

Leave a Reply

